The Diogenes project

Targeting the obesity problem: seeking new insights and routes to prevention
eu_flag
Link to Sixth Framework Programme

You are here: The Project -> Participants

Home
The Project

Participants
Objectives
Brochure

News
Member section
Sponsors
Learning Packages
Contact
 

ECO 2009
 
Pan European
Weight Loss Study
 
Participants


Details of Partners

Co-ordinator

Universiteit Maastricht
Prof. Wim HM Saris (Executive Director)
Department of Human Biology
Nutrition and Toxicology Research Institute Maastricht
(NUTRIM)
PO Box 616
6200 MD Maastricht
The Netherlands
Ph: +31 43 388 1619
Fax: +31 43 367 0976
Email: W.Saris@HB.unimaas.nl
www.hb.unimaas.nl


Karin Quanten (Project Management)
Nutrition and Toxicology Research Institute Maastricht
(NUTRIM)
PO Box 616
6200 MD Maastricht
The Netherlands
Ph: +31 43 388 1873
Fax: +31 43 367 0286
Email: K.Quanten@nutrim.unimaas.nl
www.nutrim.unimaas.nl

Gabby Hul (Project Management)
Nutrition and Toxicology Research Institute Maastricht
(NUTRIM)
PO Box 616
6200 MD Maastricht
The Netherlands
Ph: +31 43 388 1779
Fax: +31 43 367 0286
Email: Gabby.Hul@nutrim.unimaas.nl
www.nutrim.unimaas.nl

Partners


University of Copenhagen
Prof. Arne Astrup (Co-ordinator RTD1)
Department of Human Nutrition
Rolighedsvej 30
DK-1958
Frederiksberg C
Denmark
Ph: +45 352 82 476
Fax: +45 352 82 483
Email: Ast@life.ku.dk
www.life.ku.dk


Medical Research Council
Dr. Nick Wareham
MRC Epidemiology Unit
Institute of Metabolic Science
Box 285
Addenbrooke's Hospital
Hills Road
Cambridge, CB2 0QQ
United Kingdom
Ph: +44 1223 769144
Fax: +44 1223 330316
Email: nick.wareham@mrc-epid.cam.ac.uk
www.mrc-epid.cam.ac.uk  

Dr. Susan Jebb
Human Nutrition Research
Elsie Widdowson Laboratory
Fulbourn Road
Cambridge CB1 9NL
United Kingdom
Ph: +44 1223 426 356
Fax: +44 1223 437 515
Email: Susan.Jebb@mrc-hnr.cam.ac.uk
www.mrc-hnr.cam.ac.uk
 

University of Crete
Prof. Anthony Kafatos
Department of Social Medicine
Preventive Medicine & Nutrition Clinic
PO Box 2208
GR-710 03
Heraklion, Crete
Greece
Ph: +30 2810 394 595
Fax: +30 2810 394 604
Email: kafatos@med.uoc.gr
www.med.uoc.gr


German Institute of Human Nutrition Potsdam-Rehbruecke
Prof. Andreas Pfeiffer
Department of Clinical Nutrition
Arthur-Scheunert Allee 114-116
14558 Nuthetal
Germany
Ph: +49 33200 88 770
Fax: +49 33200 88 777
Email: afhp@mail.dife.de

Dr. Heiner Boeing
Department of Epidemiology
Arthur-Scheunert Allee 114-116
14558 Nuthetal
Germany
Ph: +49 33200 88 710
Fax: +49 33200 88 721
Email: boeing@mail.dife.de

www.dife.de


University of Navarra
Prof. J Alfredo Martínez
Department of Physiology and Nutrition
C / Irunlarrea 1
31008 Pamplona
Spain
Ph: +34 948 425600 ext. 6424
Fax: +34 948 425649
Email: jalfmtz@unav.es
www.unav.es


National Medical Transport Institute
Prof. Svetoslav Handjiev
Department of Nutrition, Dietetics and Metabolic Diseases
1, Krusha Planina Str
1233 Sofia
Bulgaria
Ph: +359 2 831 9254
Fax: +359 2 931 5138
Email: svhandjiev@gmail.com


Nestec S.A.
Dr. Alison Eldridge
Nestlé Research Centre
Vers-chez-les-Blanc
1000 Lausanne 26
Switzerland
Ph: +41 21 785 8847
Fax: +41 21 785 8544
Email: Alison.Eldridge@rdls.nestle.com
www.nestle.com


Inserm
Dr. Dominique Langin (Co-ordinator RTD2)
Consortium on Functional Genomics of Obesity
Obesity Research Unit
Inserm UPS U586
Institut Louis Bugnard IFR31
BP 84225
31432 Toulouse Cedex 4
France
Ph: +33 56 217 2950
Fax: +33 56 133 1721
Email: langin@toulouse.inserm.fr
www.inserm.fr

Dr. Karine Clément
Research Unit Inserm Avenir, EA3502
UMPC Paris 6
Nutrition department Hôtel-Dieu
1, Place de Parvis Notre Dame
75004 Paris
France
Ph: +33 1 4234 8453
Fax: +33 1 4051 0057
Email: karine.clement@htd.aphp.fr

Dr. Hubert Vidal
Research Unit Inserm U.499/INRA U.1235 IFR62
Claude Bernard  University of Lyon
69372 Lyon Cedex 08
France
Ph: +33 4 7877 1004
Fax: +33 4 7877 8762
Email: vidal@sante.univ-lyon1.fr


IntegraGen SA
Dr. Francis Rousseau
4 Rue Pierre Fontaine
91000 Evry
France
Ph: +33 160 910 910
Fax : +33 160 777 910
Email: jorg.hager@integragen.com
www.integragen.com


Institute of Preventive Medicine
Prof. Thorkild IA Sørensen (Co-ordinator RTD3)
Region Hovedstaden, Bispebjerg Hospital
Danish Epidemiology Science Centre
Øster Søgade 18-20
DK 1399 Copenhagen K
Denmark
Ph: +45 3338 3860
Fax: +45 3332 4240
Email: tias@ipm.regionh.dk
www.ipm.hosp.dk


Dr. Claus Holst (Co-ordinator RTD6)
Region Hovedstaden, Bispebjerg Hospital
Danish Epidemiology Science Centre
Øster Søgade 18-20
DK 1399 Copenhagen K
Denmark
Ph: +45 3338 3863
Fax: +45 3332 4240
Email: ch@ipm.regionh.dk


Budapest University of Technology and Economics
Prof. András Salgó
Department of Biochemistry and Food Technology
H-1111 Budapest
Mi Egyetem rkp. 3
Hungary
Ph: +36 1 463 3854
Fax: +36 1 463 3855
Email: salgo@mail.bme.hu
www.bme.hu


National Institute of Public Health and the Environment (RIVM)
Dr. Daphne van der A
Centre for Nutrition and Health
PO Box 1
3720 BA Bilthoven
The Netherlands
Ph: +31 30 274 4241
Fax: +31 30 274 4466
Email: Daphne.van.der.A@rivm.nl
www.rivm.nl


Centro per lo Studio e la Prevenzione Oncologica
Dr. Domenico Palli
Molecular & Nutritional Epidemiology Unit
Cancer Research and Prevention Centre (CSPO)
Scientific Institute of Tuscany
Villa delle Rose
Via Cosimo il Vecchio 2
50139 Florence
Italy
Ph: +39 055 32 69 78 28
Fax: +39 055 32 69 78 29
Email: d.palli@cspo.it
www.cspo.it


University of Helsinki
Prof. Jaakko Kaprio
Department of Public Health
PO Box 41
FI-00014 University of Helsinki
Helsinki
Finland
Ph: +358 9 191 27 595
Fax: +358 9 191 27 600
Email: jaakko.kaprio@helsinki.fi
www.helsinki.fi


The Rowett Research Institute
Dr Stephen Whybrow
Division of Energy Balance and Obesity
Greenburn Road
Bucksburn, Aberdeen AB21 9SB
United Kingdom
Ph: +44 1224 716 693
Fax: +44 1 224 716 686
Email: j.stubbs@rowett.ac.uk
www.sari.ac.uk


University of Leeds
Prof. John Blundell
BioPsychology Research Group
Institute of Psychological Sciences
Leeds LS2 9JT
United Kingdom
Ph: +44 113 343 5742
Fax: +44 113 343 6674
Email: j.e.blundell@leeds.ac.uk
www.leeds.ac.uk


University of Surrey
Prof. Richard Shepherd
Food, Consumer Behaviour and Health Research Centre
School of Human Sciences
Guilford GU2 7XH
United Kingdom
Ph: +44 1483 689449
Fax: +44 1483 689553
Email: r.shepherd@surrey.ac.uk
www.surrey.ac.uk

Dr. Monique Raats (Co-ordinator RTD4)
Food, Consumer Behaviour and Health Research Centre
School of Human Sciences
Guilford GU2 7XH
United Kingdom
Ph: +44 1483 689431
Fax: +44 1483 689553
Email: m.raats@surrey.ac.uk


Hamburg University of Applied Sciences
Prof. Joachim Westenhoefer
Nutrition and Health Psychology Group
Faculty of Life Sciences
Lohbruegger Kirchstr. 65
21033 Hamburg
Germany
Ph: +49 700 5693 7836
Fax: +49 700 5693 7836
Email: joachim@westenhoefer.de


Wageningen Centre for Food Sciences (WCFS)
Prof. Dr. R.J. Hamer
PO Box 557
6700 AN Wageningen
The Netherlands
Ph: +31 317 485 383
Fax: +31 317 485 384
Email: hamer@wcfs.nl
www.wcfs.nl


NIZO Food Research
Dr. Rianne Ruijschop
Department of Flavour
PO Box 20
6710 BA Ede
The Netherlands
Ph: +31 318 659 638
Fax: +31 318 650 400
Email: Maurits.Burgering@nizo.nl
www.nizo.nl


Nofima Food / Matforsk AS
Dr. Øydis Ueland (Co-ordinator RTD5)
Food, Fisheries and Aquaculture  Research Norway
Osloveien 1
N-1430 Ås
Norway
Ph: +47 64 97 0494
Fax: +47 64 97 0333
Email: oydis.ueland@nofima.no
www.nofima.no


Unilever Nederland BV
Dr. David Mela
Senior Scientist, Weight Control and Behavioural Nutrition
Unilever Food & Health Research Institute
PO Box 114
3130 AC Vlaardingen
The Netherlands
Ph: +31 10 460 5626
Fax: +31 10 460 5993
Email: david.mela@unilever.com
www.unilever.com


NetUnion
Dr. Tony Lam
Ave Villamont 19, 4th floor
1005 Lausanne
Switzerland
Ph: +41 2135 15366
Email: lam@netunion.com
www.netunion.com


CortecNet
Dr. Phillippe Corcos
110, rue de Rivoli
75001 Paris
France
Ph: +33 1534 09920
Fax: +33 1534 08920
Email: pcorcos@cortecnet.com
www.cortecnet.com


Danish Cancer Society
Dr. Anne Tjønneland
Institute of Cancer Epidemiology
Strandboulevarden 49
DK-2100 Copenhagen
Denmark
Ph: +45 3525 7607
Email: annet@cancer.dk 
www.cancer.dk


Imperial College of Science Technology and Medicine

Prof. Elio Riboli
Faculty of Medicine
Department of Epidemiology and Public Health
St. Mary's Campus, Norfolk Place
London W2 1PG
United Kingdom
Ph: +44 20 7594 3328
Email: e.riboli@imperial.ac.uk 
www.imperial.ac.uk


University of Angers

Dr. Patrick Ritz
UMR Inserm 694, Mitochondrie et régulations hormonales
Rue Haute de Reculee
49045 Angers
France
Ph: +33 2 4135 3450
Email: PARTIZ@chu-angers.fr 
www.univ-angers.fr


Kraft Foods R&D Inc.

Dr. Gerd Harzer
Bayerwaldstrasse 8
81737 München
Germany
Ph: +49 89 62738 6113
Email: GHarzer@krafteurope.com
www.kraft.com

 

Slimming World
Dr. James Stubbs
Slimming World Nutrition Department
Clover Nook Road
Somercotes, Alfreton
Derbyshire DE55 4RF
United Kingdom
Ph: +44 01773 546075
Email: jacquie@slimming-on-referral.com
www.slimming-world.com

 

Institute of Endocrinology
Marie Kunesova, M.D., Ph.D
Obesity Management Centre
Narodni 8
116 94 Praha 1
Czech Republic
Ph: +420 224 905104
Email: mkunesova@endo.cz
www.endo.cz
 

Proteome Sciences plc
Dr. Petra Budde
Group Leader Medical Research
Proteome Sciences R&D GmbH & Co. KG
Altenhöferallee 3
60438 Frankfurt am Main
Ph: +49 69 50986-735
Email: petra.budde@proteomics.com
www.proteomics.com
 


EU contact

Dr. Uta Faure
Scientific Officer
Research Directorate General
European Commission
Square de Meeûs 8
B-1049 Brussels, Belgium
Fax: +32 2 296 33 34
Email:
Uta.Faure@ec.europa.eu  

Jürgen Lucas
Scientific Officer
Research Directorate General
European Commission
Square de Meeûs 8
B-1049 Brussels, Belgium
Fax: +32 2 296 43 22
Email: jurgen.lucas@ec.europa.eu 

 

 



© 2005 - Diogenes